Summer Slumber

Posted by sepoy on August 25, 2009 · 1 min read

It is time for the annual CM slumber. I may poke my nose here if something compels but, really, I have a move to plan and execute. In the meantime, you can satiate yourself on my (in)frequent shoutouts on twitter.

    follow me on Twitter


    Qalandar | July 13, 2009

    The commentariat has resolved to write pro-Huntington stuff in order to get you to respond.

    Salman | July 14, 2009

    It is quite possible that I have gone blind, but I don't seem to be able to see the Search bar. Could you make that available?

    sepoy | July 14, 2009

    oops. It's back.

    Nostalgic | July 16, 2009

    Don't know if it has been mentioned already, but KK Aziz is no more... RIP...

    ns | July 31, 2009

    wake up, sepoy -- the Supreme Court of Pakistan today July 31 2008 ruled that the Nov. 3 2007 PCO was unconstitutional, the Islamabad High Court is also out, and so are scores of PCO judges. According to Ch Aitizaz Ahsan, Pervez Musharaff cannot find a lawyer to defend him at the Supreme Court (no one appeared in court). NRO status still a bit cloudy.

    Fatima | August 09, 2009

    DECISION IS BIGGEST FRAUD The decision of Supreme Court dated 31st of July 2009 as projected by media is the biggest Fraud in Judicial History of Pakistan when it says that PCO judges have been sent home. PCO Judges are still working and non PCO judges have been sacked, packed and sent home. The beneficiaries of the recent judgment are Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, Mr. Justice Javed Iqbal, Mr. Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan, Mr. Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday Mr. Justice Mian Shakirullah Jan, Mr. Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani etc. All these judges violated the constitutional oath and took fresh oath under the PCO of General Musharaf after Pakistan army ousted Nawaz Sharif in October of 1999. The other set of PCO judges are Justice Faqir Muhammad Khokhar and Justice Javed Buttar etc. including other judges in High Courts who took oath under the PCO on 3rd of November 1999. All of them are judges even today and are still continuing. Interestingly the judges who have been sent home had never taken oath under any PCO. Most of these Judges were not even appointed in General Musharaf's period. Infact they were appointed after the restoration of democracy in the country. The name of these judges who took oath under the constitution are as under:- 1) Mr. Justice Pervez Ali Chawla 1) Mr. Justice Habib Ullah Shakir 2) Mr. Justice Nazir Ahmed Ghazi 3) Mr. Justice Abdul Sattar Goraya 4) Mr. Justice Syed Ihtasham Qadir Shah 5) Justice Ms. Jamila Jahanoor Aslam 6) Mr. Justice Mahmood Akhtar Khan 7) Mr. Justice Jamshed Rahmat Ullah Mr. Justice Pervez Inayat Malik 9) Mr. Justice Arshad Mahmood 10) Mr. Justice Irfan Qadir 11) Mr. Justice Syed Zulfiqar Ali Bukhari 12) Mr. Justice Ch. Naeem Masood 13) Mr. Justice Anwar-ul-Haq Pannu 14) Mr. Justice Muhammad Shafqat Khan Abbasi 15) Mr. Justice Imtiaz Rasheed Siddiqui 16) Mr. Justice Bin Yamin 17) Mr. Justice Khalid Ali Z. Qazi 18) Mr. Justice Salman Ansari 19) Mr. Justice Abdul Rehman Farooq Pirzada 20) Mr. Justice Abdul Rasheed Klwar 21) Mr. Justice Zafar Ahmed Khan Sherwani 22) Mr. Justice Syed Mehmood Alam Rizvi 23) Justice Ms. Soofia Latif 24) Mr. Justice Maqbool Ahmed Awan 25) Mr. Justice Safdar Ahi Bhutto 26) Mr. Justice Moharram G. Baloch 27) Mr. Justice Malik Muhammad Aqil 28) Mr. Justice Syed Shafaqat Ali Shah Masoomi 29) Mr. Justice Muhammad Iqbal Mahar 30) Mr. Justice Khadim Hussain M. Sheikh 31) Mr. Justice Muhammad Ismail Bhutto 32) Mr. Justice Arshad Siraj Memon 33) Mr. Justice Aamir Raza Naqvi 34) Mr. Justice Muhammad Karim Khan Agha 35) Mr. Justice Salman Talibuddin 36) Mr. Justice Shaji Rehman Khan 37) Mr. Justice Ghulam Mohayuddin Malik 38) Mr. Justice Ziauddin Khattak 39) Mr. Justice Syed Mussaddiq Hussain Gilani 40) Mr. Justice Syed Yahya Zahid Gilani 41) Mr. Justice Muhammad Alam Khan 42) Justice Mazhar Hussain Minhas 43) Justice Muhammad Ashraf Bhatti 44) Justice Rana Zahid Mehmood 45) Justice Kazim Ali Malik 46) Justice Hafiz Tariq Nasim 47) Justice Khalil Ahmad 48) Justice MA Zafar 49) Justice Malik Saeed Ejaz 50) Justice Syed Shaheen Masud Rizvi 51) Justice Ali Akbar Qureshi 52) Justice Muhammad Ahsan Bhoon. The aforesaid 52 judges have never ever taken oath under the PCO. They have been ousted. The nation is celebrating and all the PCO judges are still continuing as judges. In short the fight between post November 3 PCO judges and post October 12 PCO judges has resulted in ouster of judges who took oath only under the Constitution of Pakistan and never ever under the PCO. The media, PML[N], the lawyers and other political forces are mixed up and are rejoicing the ouster of constitutionally appointed judges and PPP seems ignorant of this fact. Such things can only happen in Pakistan. After General Musharraf dislodged Nawaz's government on 12th October 1999, Iftikhar Chaudhry in order to save his job took oath under the PCO. However when he lost his job on 3rd of November 2007 he condemned the PCO. Lets stop having double standards. All PCO judges should be removed regardless of the fact whether they took oath under the PCO before 2nd of November 2007 or thereafter. The irony is that PCO judges have removed those judges who took oath only under the constitution and never under any PCO.

    Jonathan Dresner | August 25, 2009

    Sepoy, you picked a hell of a time to leave the country.

    sepoy | August 25, 2009

    You mean I picked a hell of a time to leave this country led by a Seekrit Mooslem throwing his Halal health Care package on our gun-toting shoulders?

    Jonathan Dresner | August 29, 2009

    Yeah, we really can't afford to be exporting smart people. Or sane ones.

    gaddeswarup | August 31, 2009

    I like this slumber business. It gave me a chance to look at some of the older posts which I find are much more readable and informative than some of the elusive recent posts and discussions.